image2013 continues to be a pretty good year for bagging some more publications. And in a variety of formats to boot. My short story — For Jane — is now available to download from Bound Off. That’s right, download. It’s a podcast. So my lucky reading several can become my listening several and hear me read these words what I wrote, as if to them personally. So very lucky.

I love Bound Off. I was surprised to learn that this is the fourth time I’ve had a story there. All but one time I’ve narrated the story myself. I have to admit, it was something of a highlight of my writing career to have someone else read my words, which happened with my story called A Documentary About Sharks, read by Vincent Louis Carrella. He did a great job.

For Jane was written, kinda, to one of Alex Keegan’s Bootcamp prompts back at the start of 2011. I can’t remember it exactly but it was something like, “write a story from the point of view of an emotion.” A more precise prompt was the phrase scrawled in paint, which features in the opening sentence of the story. This phrase was, to the best of my recollection, written word for word, kiss for kiss, on a wall near the Beefeater in Falkirk. It was there when Falkirk Public Baths were still in existence, which may be a chronological barometer for some. For Jane is what happened when these two separate prompts finally found each other in a dusty corner of my brain, shared a bottle of red and got all creative.

It was written shortly after I’d “moved back in with my mum” so perhaps it’s unsurprising that the theme turned out the way it did. A few early critiquers of the story thought that it had too much of an exercise feel to it, which I agreed with up to a point. However, I’d read an earlier, rawer version of it live at Last Monday at Rio in August of 2011 and it went down very well with the discerning (or drunken) audience. You can watch the video here, with a poem ((Event is in the Past), previously featured in Every Day Poets) thrown in at no extra charge. I’d watched it myself quite recently and thought if I gave it a scrub and a polish, it might be a good fit for Bound Off, given the podcast element. As an aside, I’ve lost weight since that video. Quite a bit of weight.

So there you go. You have Alex Keegan and an unknown graffiti artist to blame / thank for this story’s existence.

Sadly, the wall and its anti-social declaration are no longer with us, but I hope the real life Jane, who presumably lived near the Beefeater in Falkirk, eventually found her Tarzan.

You can download the current issue of Bound Off from the site, or from The iTunes,  or you can simply listen to it right now by clicking on this link:

http://www.boundoff.com/podcast/boundoffshortstorypodcast87.mp3

 

