I was at a book launch in a big, posh, baronial manor tonight and the book being launched has 1,000 of my words in it. To be fair, some of them are repeated.

It’s an anthology of writers from Clackmannanshire … some people I know from Alloa Writers, some strangers … called Unheard Voices.

Writers mingling, yesterday

Writers mingling, yesterday

As exclusively revealed, oo, ages ago here on Words. Sentences. Stuff. my story, The Last House, made the cut. As it turns out, it’s first up and while I can try to kid myself that this placement was a decision made on quality, I have to say there’s some really excellent stuff in there, not least a poem by Jane M Spence called Skating On Gartmorn Dam.

As I mentioned after the theatre the other night, it’s a pleasant surprise to find that so many people in such a small place have a creative side.

The book was put together with the help of Stuart Hepburn and Tom Murray, who are Writers In Residence in the wee county.

Stuart used to write for Taggart and Hamish McBeth and wrote the adaptation of Christopher Brookmyre’s Quite Ugly One Morning and has a page on imdb and is leaving the residency to write for River City. Or as he puts it, to sort it out. It’s something of a buzz to know that someone with such credentials has read my story and deemed it worthy to be placed in an anthology that has an ISBN and everything.

Apologies, though, go to Ashleigh and Calum who, as I type, are currently enjoying their second day of wedded bliss. I intended to go to the reception, but they weren’t giving out free copies of an anthology to the featured writers so I hope they can see and appreciate my dilemma. Perhaps a hint for others planning their own wedding … who knows.

