I’m too scared to look down and see when I last wrote an entry to this “blog.” It was a while ago. Let’s just leave it at that.

I’d like to say I’ve been busy during this lengthy hiatus, but apart from getting a review into the Stirling Observer and picking up yet another rejection from Glimmer Train, it’s been a quiet few weeks chez moi.

And in the spirit of not updating my blog, I can reveal that I’m not doing NaNoWriMo this year either. For those who don’t know, NaNoWriMo is the National Novel Writing Month where, for the 30 days in November, participants pledge to write 1,666 words and at the end of the month, they’re left with a 50,000 word novel. The trick, and the point, is to switch of the internal editor and just write. For 30 days, it’s like you don’t have a delete or backspace button. You just write. And write. Editing comes later.

Last year, I got up early to get a head start with my 1,666 words and, for a fortnight, it was going pretty well. It wasn’t my best writing, but that’s not the point. Then, on the morning of Day 15, I hit snooze on the alarm clock and effectively gave up. However, over and above the words I wrote for the novel, I managed another 10,000 or so in short stories.  NaNoWriMo, it seems, is something of a literary laxative.

So anyway, this year, I’m not doing that. For the last 18 months or so, I’ve been writing another novel on and off and for the last three months, I’ve hardly touched it. So this November, I’m determined to finish what I’m affectionately calling That Fucking Story.  As of right now, I’m 74,753 words and 23 chapters in. According to my outline, I have 21,000 words and 7 chapters to go.  So it’s less than half as tough as NaNoWriMo and seeing as I managed to do less than half of it last year, I reckon I’ve got a decent chance.

So the plan is, 1,000 words a day and be done on or before December 1. Sounds easy. In fact, it is easy. I’ll be done by December 1. So there.

